Skip to content

The Globe dominates the National Newspaper Awards

The Globe and Mail dominated the 67th National Newspaper Awards, winning nine of 21 categories handed out Friday, May 27, capped when Joanna Slater, a Globe foreign correspondent, was named 2015 Journalist of the Year for her coverage of the Syrian refugee crisis in Europe.

No other Canadian news organization won more than two of the awards and it’s at least the fifth consecutive year The Globe has won or tied for the most awards nationwide.

“The emphatic wins prove we are providing journalism based on empathy, curiosity and courage,” said David Walmsley, Globe editor-in-chief. “We care deeply about hosting the national conversation and the wins convey the range of our passions and our commitment to deliver the best journalism. This has been a most extraordinary year. All of us at The Globe and Mail are proud to be associated with journalism of this calibre.”

Globe staff or freelancers won the awards in these categories:

  • International: Ms. Slater for her coverage of the Syrian refugee issue in Europe. That coverage also won her the Journalist of the Year award.
  • Beat Reporting: Kathryn Blaze Baum for coverage of indigenous communities.
  • Business: Jacquie McNish and Niall McGee for a look into the investigation of allegations in the online gambling industry.
  • Investigations: Renata D’Aliesio for her 18-month quest to unravel the spike in suicides among veterans who served in Afghanistan.
  • Politics: Adrian Morrow for coverage of secret payments to the Ontario Secondary Schools Teachers’ Federation by the provincial Liberal government.
  • Arts and Entertainment: Greg McArthur, Kate Taylor and Jacquie McNish for their coverage of philanthropic donations to the Royal Ontario Museum.
  • Long Feature: Sierra Skye Gemma for a story on pornography, and healthy attitudes toward sex and love.
  • Sports Photo: Fred Lum for a shot of Jose Bautista’s infamous bat flip in last year’s baseball playoffs
  • Newspaper Presentation: Bryan Gee, Benjamin MacDonald for Globe Style portfolio
  • A news release from the awards committee said The Canadian Press and La Presse each won two awards, and eight other news organizations won one each – The Brandon Sun, The Halifax Chronicle-Herald, The Hamilton Spectator, The Kingston Whig-Standard, The New Brunswick Telegraph Journal, The Ottawa Citizen, Postmedia and The Toronto Star.

    The National Newspaper Awards are open to daily newspapers, news agencies and online news sites approved for entry by the NNA Board of Governors. Sixty-six finalists were nominated in the 21 categories, selected from 1,100 entries published in 2015. Of 57 newspapers and online news sites to submit entries, 23 organizations earned nominations. The winners were announced Friday evening at a ceremony held in Edmonton.

    For complete details read the article on

    See all Ideas & Insights